I Read,Therefore I Am!

Posted: August 5, 2010 in Personal
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Perhaps the only good habit that has not left me over the years is reading. I a voracious reader and try to read one book every week, at the least. And, I do not count the numerous journals, blogs, newsletters, etc that I read everyday. A lot of people these days do not understand the joy and advantages of “reading”. What I really want to do is start a reading club and encourage all to read as much as they can.

I have one of those ebook readers as well, but I just love the feeling of flipping the grainy pages of a paperback. Call me old-fashioned! It just feels right to flip pages, bookmark them by folding the top edge, and not having to “recharge” them.

I recently found one of my old photographs from my law school days. I stand in front of my bookcase that was stacked with more than a 100 books, none related to law. There was another stack of law books next to my desk. My dad had taken that photograph, perhaps to show me later if I did not pass law school, and to rub it in for all his money spent on these books. Eventually I did pass law school so my dad only cribs about all the money I spent.

I want to pass on this love for reading to my daughter. If she asks me ever what is so good about reading, then I list down these reasons for her:

1. It opens up your imagination. Instead of seeing characters, places, reactions, you will start feeling them.
2. You will learn how to take an unbiased view of the world. Reading triggers your brain cells directly without the being corrupted by the sense of sight, smell, touch, etc.
3. Reading will create in you a thirst for knowledge. The more you read about things, the more you will want explore further and further.
4. Most of all you will be able to distinguish fact from fiction just by being able to decode intonations, pronunciations, words, etc.

There are some books that I have to list down now that have never left my bookshelf and I have read them a hundred times. I hope my daughter likes them eventually as well, as much as I do.

1. The Last Lecture – Randy Pausch (by far the best book I have, and keep reading regularly)
2. Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell (opened my eyes to a lot of new things, defined path for excellence)
3. Julius Caesar – Shakespeare (probably the best play written, ever)
4. Honor Among Thieves – Jeffrey Archer (a great book for a rainy day, or for a long flight)
5. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown (not able to put this down every time I read it)

A parting thought that I heard somewhere a while ago – we do not choose the books we read, they choose us. True?

Leave a Reply

