Apple-ification: Why I Converted from a “PC” to “Mac”

Posted: June 10, 2010 in Personal, Technology
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am not sure if “Apple-ification” is an actual word, but it should be used to describe the act of switching to a Mac. I vaguely remember the advertisements that used to run on TV (not sure if they still do), their premise being – “I’m a Mac” , “I’m a PC”, etc. I always looked at the Mac computers with a fair bit of skepticism. I knew they were well-engineered computers that looked awesome, but was not sure whether they would be able to replace my “PC”. As I write this blog, on my newly acquired iMac, I can assure you this – “I am now a Mac”.

There are a million reviews out there about the iMac (I include Macbooks as well in this), and I write this not to review, rather to reflect on what has made me a big fan. (I bought an iPhone as well right after the iMac). This is also written as a response to the Mac-skeptics that frequently see my Mac and with a muted voice ask “Whats so different?”. Obviously, they cannot see the sheer joy on my face as I play music on iTunes, while writing a blog, downloading a movie/song, and at the same time have a dozen excel sheets and word documents open in an effort to stay on top of my office work. So here are MY top 5 reasons why I stay “converted” to a Mac.

Reason 1: Simple and elegant design of the Mac OS: I absolutely love the “dock” and how easy it makes to access applications and documents. Nothing could beat the “hot corners”, “spaces”, and “exposes” as well, since I was getting tired of the “Alt+Tab”.

Reason 2: No more “double-clicking”, well at least for the most part.

Reason 3: Installing applications is not an endless nightmare, I just drag and drop the app file, which thankfully is not an “exe”. I haven’t figured out what “dmg” stands for, but am glad it is what it is. Similarly, I don’t have to go through an annoying routine to uninstall an application, I just have to move the application into my “trash” bin.

Reason 4: The absolutely flawless syncing that I have with my phone, which is an iPhone now. I can access all my files anytime, and stay “at work” while relaxing on the beach (not that I am). The number of applications (I call them “apps” now, as in the “App Store”) that are helping me stay “connected” is great.

Reason 5: My ultimate stress test (others could have tried different): I decided to test how much the system could handle so just for fun sake I did the following simultaneously: Started three different movies on 3 different media players (VLC, Quicktime and Realplayer), played my music library on iTunes, started to download a trial version of Adobe Photoshop, started to edit a home-made video on iMovie, and was working on an excel sheet for work. That’s a lot of confusion, but the amazing thing is everything was running smoothly and I was able to switch between all of them seamlessly. Wonder if I should try this with my Dell? (Maybe not!)

I am not much of a techie (do not be fooled by the Computer Science degree that I have), so my reasons are not justified from a technology perspective. I don’t understand how the Mac has been designed, but in someone else’s words, “I am lovin’ it!”. And, this is not due to the absolutely beautiful looks of the iMac – i.e. the brilliantly designed monitor, the wireless keyboard, and the “magic mouse”.

Will end this in three words – “I’m a Mac”!

Comments
  1. […] I am not sure if "Apple-ification" is an actual word, but it should be used to describe the act of switching to a Mac. I vaguely remember the advertisements that used to run on TV (not sure if they still do), their premise being – "I'm a Mac" , "I'm a PC", etc. I always looked at the Mac computers with a fair bit of skepticism. I knew they were well-engineered computers that looked awesome, but was not sure whether they would be able to replace m … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

